Call Today:  1-818-380-1700

Main Menu

Contact Information




Main Menu

What is Medicare

About Medicare/Types of Medicare Plans


Simply put, Medicare is a health insurance plan managed and provided by the government.  People are eligible for Medicare when they turn 65, or before then if they become disabled or develop End-Stage Renal Disease (permanent kidney failure requiring dialysis or a transplant).  Medicare Health Insurance is divided in four types of coverage:


Part A:  Part A covers inpatient hospital care, nursing facility care, hospice care and some home health care due to major illnesses or other catastrophic events.   There are no premiums due for Part A Medicare. 


Part B:  When medically necessary, Part B covers doctors' visits and outpatient hospital care, and some other medical services that Part A doesn't cover, such as the services of physical and occupational therapists, and some home health care.  The premium for Part B Medicare varies depending on your income; however the standard monthly minimum is $104.90 as of 2013.


Part C:  Also known as Medicare Advantage, Part C is a more cost effective Medicare health insurance plan that acts like an HMO or PPO and combines Part A and B together.  It is provided through a private carrier and typically provides better coverage than just A and B alone.  This policy may have co-pays and deductibles. 


Part D:  Part D is Medicare coverage for prescription drugs.  It can be offered as part of a Medicare Advantage Plan, or alone, in addition to Part B for an additional premium.   


Since Medicare does not cover all of your medical costs, Supplemental Insurance Plans are available to cover the gaps in Medicare coverage and save you thousands in out-of-pocket medical costs including deductibles, coinsurances, co-pays, and something called excess charges.  You can trust Eichberg Associates to expertly guide you through the process of selecting the right plan for your needs and budget.  


For more information visit  






Wrong password.